St Andrews Castle
NO 513-169 Fife Scotland
St Andrews Castle was originally a late 12th century rectangular earth and timber enclosure fortress, which was founded by and the official residence of Bishop Roger. With a stone gatehouse to the fore, during the Wars of Independence with England, the castle was dismantled in 1310. Rebuilt by the English in 1336, it was captured and dismantled again by Sir Andrew Moray in 1337. Substantially rebuilt in stone by Bishop Walter Trail in the late 14th century, Archbishop James Beaton then flanked the landward angles with early 16th century round blockhouses. In 1546 the castle was occupied by Protestants and Cardinal David Beaton was murdered, after he had the preacher George Wishart, burnt at the stake on The Scores. Reinforced by John Knox and other Protestants, the ensuing year long siege by the Regent Arran caused wholesale damage but resulted in a unique survival of medieval siege warfare, a mine and counter-mine. Repaired by Archbishop John Hamilton in the mid 16th century, he added The Hamilton Façade and turn the gatehouse into a tower house. From the 17th century the castle fell into ruin, with its stone being used to repair the harbour and sadly in 1801 the great hall fell into the sea. Nearby is The Pends and 12 miles south-west at Lower Largo is Pitcruvie Castle.
St Andrews Castle is located in the town centre, off The Scores. 13 miles south-east of Dundee, on the A92-A91.
The site is owned by Historic Scotland and is open daily, April to September 9:30-5:30pm, Saturday to Wednesday October to March 9:30-4:30pm.
There are car parks nearby.