Abbot's Tower New Abbey
NX 972-666 Kirkcudbrightshire Scotland
Abbot's Tower was originally a mid 16th century stone structure, founded by Cuthbert Brown. Built on church land which was sold to him in 1541, by his brother John Brown, abbot of Sweetheart Abbey. This structure was then converted into kitchens, when Cuthbert's son John founded the L-plan tower house in the 1580s. Of three storeys and a garret, the stair-wing is crowned by a caphouse and the entrance and an upper corbelled-out stair-turret, are in the re-entrant angle. Originally to the west was a walled barmkin, with a courtyard paved with granite slabs but sadly there are no standing remains. With a first floor hall, above a basement, the fortress fell into disuse after it was sold out of the family in 1627 and in the 1990s, the ruined tower was restored, to make a stunning dwelling house. Nearby is Kirkconnel House.